Thankful

Yes, I am someone who rants and whines and cribs about every single thing around this world. But then, can you really blame me? I mean look around, observe, then you may understand where my anger emerges from.

That being said, I decided to observe some positive things today. And I found many. 

First, if you’re reading this you have something to be thankful for. There are people out there who live without electricity, forget the internet. People starve to death, they die because of unhygienic water and no shelter. So stop crying about the chipped nails and be thankful. 

Seriously, not only you guys (yes, I know you whine too) but even I take so many things for granted. I go to one of the best schools in the city, and I complain about the homework. I conveniently forget that millions of kids would sell their souls to attend a school. I get to sleep in an air conditioned room, over looking a slum area where people sleep in the heat and the occasional flooding. And what do I end up doing? Always curse around saying the room is too small. I have clean water, and I am sure all of you reading this do. How many times have you thought about the people living in Sahel without clean water before throwing it away? TO be honest, at this point, I am pretty ashamed of myself.

Therefore, I thought I should be nice and just be thankful. For the fact that I’m alive and healthy, for the fact that I still have the strength to fight, for the fact that I have something to look forward to. I am thankful that I’m breathing, I am thankful to have my friends and family by my side. 

No, my life isn’t perfect, but what is the point of a perfect life? 

Leave a Reply

