New Year Resolutions?

To start with, I would like to apologise. I realise a number of posts will revolve around New Year and 2015, and mine will be one of them. I am only human, and can’t escape the tsunami of thoughts.

So, New Year. 2015.

I see a lot of people treating this as an opportunity to start over, to rebuild themselves and their dreams. From wanting to lose weight or getting over a lost love, to scoring better and finally learning how to swim. I see resolutions, and although I have no problems with resolutions, I don’t have one. Yet.

The way I see it, you don’t need to wait for the next year to start over. You could choose 24th March as the date you change for good, and it shouldn’t matter. It’s still a new start, a new opportunity. The truth is, every single day is full of opportunities. On any given day, you can simply resign from your job and pack your stuff in one bag, get a cab to the airport and buy a ticket to any random destination and start over. It doesn’t have to be the 1st of January, because technically it doesn’t matter. Any day you choose can be a brand new start. A clean slate.

Nevertheless, the ones who keep resolutions, I have nothing against you. Admittedly, it is a pretty rad way to track progress, to keep growing. It’s a marker. So to everyone with goals and dreams, I hope the universe conspires to bring you closer to it. Good luck.

And a very, very Happy New Year(s) – just incase I’m not here for the coming years, or you guys don’t read this next year. I hope everyone has a great year, year after year.

That’s irrational optimism, but oh well.

Leave a Reply

