Appreciating Queerness

I have a man’s body. I accept this body. I offer it to everyone.

I have a woman’s body. I accept this body. I offer it to everyone.

I have a man’s body. I reject this body. I desire no one.

I have a woman’s body. I reject this body. I desire no one.

I don’t know if my body is a woman’s or a man’s. I feel I am a woman.

I don’t know if my body is a man’s or a woman’s. I feel I am a man.

I have a man’s body. It should be a woman’s. I desire men.

I have a woman’s body. It should be a man’s. I desire women.

I have a man’s body. It should be a woman’s. I desire women.

I have a woman’s body. It should be a man’s. I desire men.

I have a man’s body. I dress like a woman. I desire men.

I have a woman’s body. I dress like a man. I desire women.

I have a man’s body. I dress like a woman. I desire women.

I have a woman’s body. I dress like a man. I desire men.

I have a man’s body. I dress like a man. I desire both men and women

I have a woman’s body. I dress like a woman. I desire both women and men.

I have a man’s body. I dress like a man. I desire men.

I have a woman’s body. I dress like a woman. I desire women.

I have a man’s body. I dress like a man. I desire women.

I have a woman’s body. I dress like a woman. I desire men.

I am a man. I desire only one woman.

I am a woman. I desire only one man.

I am a man. I desire only one man.

I am a woman. I desire only one woman.

I am neither male nor female.

I am both male and female.

I am firm and flexible.

I am aware and I am not.

To appreciate this fluidity of nature

And the shifting rigidities of culture

Is to appreciate queerness.

This is a poem I read in a book by Devdutt Pattanaik called “Shikhandi and other tales they don’t tell you”.

I have no copyrights over this work, but I found this to be so simple yet so elegant, I needed to share it.
Leave a Reply

