Oh, Guardians of Culture

Recently I stumbled upon a post, which led to a rather…peculiar website. I knew it stood against everything I believe in, but I was curious to read their justifications. This is what I read when I scrolled down, and well. Okay.

Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 7.14.20 pm

If you insist, former football coach. I might also add that I find it amusing to see how football coaches are now qualified to make judgements about morality and immorality and call for an entire team movement against homosexuality. Screw the game, let’s talk about God and The Bible.

I think this individual forgot that the “White Man’s Burden” is no longer a thing – as much as some would like it to be, it is not. I promise you. So you can take your religious preachings and your hate and keep them to yourself. Thank you.

Oh, homosexuality isn’t the only thing they hate. I might also add abortion to their list, which they equate to murder. Because what are rights of women? Some random work of fiction it seems.

Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 7.14.59 pm

The term “re-criminalisation of abortion”sends chills down my spine. Here are people who have no idea about what a catastrophe it would be, what a violation it would be, to strip women of power over their own bodies. But who gives a flying shit, yeah?

Wait, but I have to give credit where it’s due. This group is hateful and ignorant and pathetic, but they do sell merchandise at a reasonable rate. So now, you can propagate intolerance with style.

Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 7.23.44 pm

America is, albeit self-appointed and self-declared, the greatest country in the world. And nobody can deny that it has influence over the rest of the world. If your President goes to Kenya and talks about accepting homosexuality (something I respect Obama for), you should probably work on reducing hate within your own country, no?

My point here is, most people assume that the fight is over. But we’re far from the finishing line. And maybe there is no finishing line, but we’ve got to keep moving. There are fringe elements in the western, more “developed” society that threaten some basic rights and freedoms. And in India, where I live, laws themselves threaten freedoms. The entire world still has a long way to go, so please do not abandon the cause. Or, you know, we’ll be stuck with having to accept everything the bright red shirt says.

 

Leave a Reply

