You know nothing, Jon Snow

I have a little more than two weeks left.

Who am I kidding, I have it down to the day, hour, minute and second.

Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 11.44.35 AM

Less than 15 days, I have less than 15 days until I land in a country, which is in a continent that I have never seen. And honestly, the anxiety is taking its toll on me. I am scared of how I am going to adjust to a completely new culture and immerse myself in it. I realised that all the trips I’ve had before this one were luxurious. I stayed in resorts and travelled with people who knew English and I had my parents making sure I found food that I could eat. Now I will be completely alone, dealing with all the travel related issues myself.

I feel like Goddamn Jon Snow (also Game of Thrones season 6 is so close, I might cry)

At the same time, I cannot wait. I have one more vaccination to go, my flight and visas are in place. My passport is already sitting in my bag, ready to leave. I still need to get some photographs, and I really need to find that hoodie. Also, I need to get some more toiletries. The list never ends. I’m very sure that I’ll be at the airport, at 4 am, and panicking because I forgot my lip balm.

I am trying to learn a new language but I am failing so bad, and Jesus what is with the temperatures there? I also need to train dad in Skype, because I absolutely cannot live without talking to my parents. Yes, I’m a baby. Forex is stressing me out because I don’t know how to take money, how to handle money, how to exchange money. I so wish I had gone with dad to exchange money in all those countries instead of chilling in the spa.

My arm really hurts from all the vaccinations, it’s red and swollen. I mean they basically make sure you don’t get sick, they could have just also made sure your arm doesn’t hurt so much. It couldn’t have been that difficult.

Also, there are some things left to do at college and I will have my results in my hand soon. I need to get good grades, or I’ll be sulking throughout the month I have in Africa. I kid you not, this has happened.

Anyway, I will update you guys as and when the anxiety reaches its peak. What are your plans this summer? And yes, I know some of you haven’t started your summer break yet and are stressing about finals. I’m sorry for rubbing salt on your wounds.

Leave a Reply

